Estrada vs. The People
March 31, 2003
The Cloture Vote On Estrada

For the record:
Filibuster Holds!
How Senators Voted on the Estrada Filibuster

Here is the full text of the article in case the link goes bad:

Filibuster Holds!
How Senators Voted on the Estrada Filibuster
Cloture* Votes on the Nomination of Miguel Estrada to the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit.

See how your senators voted below. Click on a senator's name to phone, fax or e-mail your personal message about the votes to the senator. Thank those who voted NO (keep the filibuster going) and express your outrage to those who voted YES to the President's court-packing scheme.

First Cloture Vote - March 6, 2003
Vote Totals: 44 Nays - 55 Yeas - 1 Not Voting

Second Cloture Vote - March 13, 2003
Vote Totals: 42 Nays - 55 Yeas - 3 Not Voting

Third Cloture Vote - March 18, 2003
Vote Totals: 45 Nays - 55 Yeas

3/6/03 3/13/03 3/18/03
Sen. Richard Shelby (R) Yes Yes Yes
Sen. Jeff Sessions (R) Yes Yes Yes
Sen. Ted Stevens (R) Yes Yes Yes
Sen. Lisa Murkowski (R) Yes Yes Yes
Sen. John McCain (R) Yes Yes Yes
Sen. Jon Kyl (R) Yes Yes Yes
Sen. Blanche Lincoln (D) No No No
Sen. Mark Pryor (D) No No No
Sen. Dianne Feinstein (D) No No No
Sen. Barbara Boxer (D) No No No
Sen. Ben Nighthorse Campbell (R) Yes Yes Yes
Sen. Wayne Allard (R) Yes Yes Yes
Sen. Christopher Dodd (D) No No No
Sen. Joseph Lieberman (D) No No No
Sen. Joseph Biden, Jr. (D) No Not Voting No
Sen. Thomas Carper (D) No No No
Sen. Bob Graham (D) Not Voting No No
Sen. Bill Nelson (D) Yes Yes Yes
Sen. Zell Miller (D) Yes Yes Yes
Sen. Saxby Chambliss (R) Yes Yes Yes
Sen. Daniel Inouye (D) No No No
Sen. Daniel Akaka (D) No No No
Sen. Larry Craig (R) Yes Yes Yes
Sen. Michael Crapo (R) Yes Yes Yes
Sen. Richard Durbin (D) No No No
Sen. Peter Fitzgerald (R) Yes Yes Yes
Sen. Richard Lugar (R) Yes Yes Yes
Sen. Evan Bayh (D) No No No
Sen. Charles Grassley (R) Yes Yes Yes
Sen. Tom Harkin (D) No No No
Sen. Sam Brownback (R) Yes Yes Yes
Sen. Pat Roberts (R) Yes Yes Yes
Sen. Mitch McConnell (R) Yes Yes Yes
Sen. Jim Bunning (R) Yes Yes Yes
Sen. John Breaux (D) Yes Yes Yes
Sen. Mary Landrieu (D) No No No
Sen. Olympia Snowe (R) Yes Yes Yes
Sen. Susan Collins (R) Yes Yes Yes
Sen. Paul Sarbanes (D) No No No
Sen. Barbara Mikulski (D) No No No
Sen. Edward Kennedy (D) No No No
Sen. John Kerry (D) No Not Voting No
Sen. Carl Levin (D) No No No
Sen. Debbie Stabenow (D) No No No
Sen. Mark Dayton (D) No No No
Sen. Norm Coleman (R) Yes Yes Yes
Sen.Thad Cochran (R) Yes Yes Yes
Sen. Trent Lott (R) Yes Yes Yes
Sen. Christopher Bond (R) Yes Yes Yes
Sen. Jim Talent (R) Yes Yes Yes
Sen. Max Baucus (D) No No No
Sen. Conrad Burns (R) Yes Yes Yes
Sen. Chuck Hagel (R) Yes Yes Yes
Sen. Ben Nelson (D) Yes Yes Yes
Sen. Harry Reid (D) No No No
Sen. John Ensign (R) Yes Yes Yes
New Hampshire
Sen. Judd Gregg (R) Yes Yes Yes
Sen. John Sununu (R) Yes Yes Yes
New Jersey
Sen. Jon Corzine (D) No No No
Sen. Frank Lautenberg (D) No No No
New Mexico
Sen. Pete Domenici (R) Yes Yes Yes
Sen. Jeff Bingaman (D) No No No
New York
Sen. Charles Schumer (D) No No No
Sen. Hillary Clinton (D) No No No
North Carolina
Sen. John Edwards (D) No Not Voting No
Sen. Elizabeth Dole (R) Yes Yes Yes
North Dakota
Sen. Kent Conrad (D) No No No
Sen. Byron Dorgan (D) No No No
Sen. Mike DeWine (R) Yes Yes Yes
Sen. George Voinovich (R) Yes Yes Yes
Sen. Don Nickles (R) Yes Yes Yes
Sen. James Inhofe (R) Yes Yes Yes
Sen. Ron Wyden (D) No No No
Sen. Gordon Smith (R) Yes Yes Yes
Sen. Arlen Specter (R) Yes Yes Yes
Sen. Rick Santorum (R) Yes Yes Yes
Rhode Island
Sen. Jack Reed (D) No No No
Sen. Lincoln Chafee (R) Yes Yes Yes
South Carolina
Sen. Ernest Hollings (D) No No No
Sen. Lindsey Graham (R) Yes Yes Yes
South Dakota
Sen. Thomas Daschle (D) No No No
Sen. Tim Johnson (D) No No No
Sen. Bill Frist (R) Yes Yes Yes
Sen. Lamar Alexander (R) Yes Yes Yes
Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchison (R) Yes Yes Yes
Sen. John Cornyn (R) Yes Yes Yes
Sen. Orrin Hatch (R) Yes Yes Yes
Sen. Robert Bennett (R) Yes Yes Yes
Sen. Patrick Leahy (D) No No No
Sen. James Jeffords (I) No No No
Sen. John Warner (R) Yes Yes Yes
Sen. George Allen (R) Yes Yes Yes
Sen. Patty Murray (D) No No No
Sen. Maria Cantwell (D) No No No
West Virginia
Sen. Robert Byrd (D) No No No
Sen. John Rockefeller IV (D) No No No
Sen. Herbert Kohl (D) No No No
Sen. Russ Feingold (D) No No No
Sen. Craig Thomas (R) Yes Yes Yes
Sen. Michael Enzi (R) Yes Yes Yes

* In order to end a Senate filibuster on a bill or nomination, 60 senators must vote in favor of what's called cloture. Senators have the option of calling for multiple cloture votes, but the filibuster cannot be ended until one of these votes attracts the support of 60 senators.

Posted by Lisa at March 31, 2003 08:57 PM | TrackBack
Me A to Z (A Work In Progress)